The Ministry of Mines and Petroleum (MoMP)

Regional Mining Bureaus

Regional States Pages

Ethiopia has a Federal administrative system comprising of nine (9) Regional States and two City Administrative Councils. In Ethiopia’s legal framework, the Regional States’ Mines Bureaus have the mandate to issue:

  • Small and Large Scale Mineral Operations Licenses for construction minerals
  • Small Scale Mineral Operations Licenses for industrial minerals,
  • Reconnaissance, Exploration and Retention Licenses with respect to construction and industrial minerals

The Regional administration also collects royalty from the small scale and artisanal production of precious minerals, industrial and construction materials.